Home > News > Industry News

Summary of global LED lighting certification standards


In the current situation of global energy shortage, saving energy is an important issue we face. LED is known as the new generation of green light source. Its energy saving, environmental protection, long life and other advantages, so that LED lighting industry has become the focus of the green industry. In view of the increasingly mature and rapid development of LED lighting technology, in order to regulate the emerging market of LED lighting, some important LED regional markets around the world have introduced relevant technical regulations or standards, and put forward certification requirements for the application of LED lighting certification. Today we mainly introduce the following types of certification.

CE certification

CE certification is limited to the basic safety requirements that products do not endanger the safety of humans, animals and goods, rather than general quality requirements, the coordination directive only lays down the main requirements, and the general directive requirements are standard tasks. Therefore, the precise meaning is: the CE mark is a safety conformity mark rather than a quality conformity mark. These are the "principal requirements" that form the core of the European Directive. The "CE" mark is a safety certification mark, which is regarded as a passport for manufacturers to open and enter the European market. In the EU market, the "CE" mark is a compulsory certification mark. Whether the products produced by an enterprises within the EU or products produced by other countries, if they want to circulate freely in the EU market, they must be affixed with the "CE" mark.


UL certification

UL is short for American Underwriters Laboratory. UL Safety Testing Institute is the most authoritative organization in the United States and the largest private organization engaged in safety testing and appraisal in the world.. It is an independent, for-profit, professional organization that conducts experiments for public safety. It uses scientific testing methods to study and determine the various materials, devices, products, equipment, buildings, etc. are harmful to life and property and the degree of harm;; To determine, compile and issue relevant standards and materials that can help to reduce and prevent damage to life and property, while carrying out fact-finding business.


FCC certification

Established by COMMUNICATIONACT in 1934, the Federal Communications Commission is an independent agency of the US government and is directly responsible to Congress. The FCC coordinates domestic and international communications by controlling radio, television, telecommunications, satellite, and cable. FCC approval is required for many radio application products, communication products and digital products to enter the US market. The FCC committee investigates and studies each stage of product safety to find out the best way to address the problem. At the same time, FCC also includes the testing of radio devices, aircraft and so on.

GS certification

GS means that the security has been certified, which also means the security of Germany. GS certification is a voluntary certification based on the German Product Safety Act (GPGS) and tested in accordance with the European Union unified standard EN or the German industrial standard DIN. It is a German safety certification mark recognized in the European market.